Community Action Pioneer Valley's

Board of Directors

Community Action is led by Executive Director Clare Higgins, and is governed by a eighteen Board of Directors. One-third (6) of the members of the Board live with lower incomes and are elected by residents living with lower incomes in Franklin and Hampshire Counties. These seats give people with lower incomes a direct voice in shaping Community Action's policies and programs. The other twelve Board members represent public officials and organizations from the private sector.

This configuration provides the opportunity for needs and priorities to be established by peers of those participating in our programs. In this way, decisions about programs that address poverty are moved out of the political arena and back to the people who are most affected. At the same time, private and public representatives gain a clearer understanding of the issues confronting those who use our services.


2020-2021 Board of Directors


Michael Aleo

Lesser, Newman, Nasser & Aleo, LLC

Wendy Berg

Attorney (Retired)

Barbara Black

Northampton Public Schools (Retired)

Robert F. Brainin

Jacob's Pillow

Jackie Brousseau-Pereira

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Ellen Cain

Department of Children and Families (Retired)

Charity L. Day


Chelsea Depault

Greenfield Co-operative Bank

Lizbeth M. Del Toro-Mejias

Baystate Health

Yogesh Malik

Greenfield Savings Bank

Anita McConnell


Rachel McMahon

Office of Rep. Susannah Whipps

Amber Ortiz

Community Representative

Department of Children and Families

Crystalyn Osborne

Community Representative

HS&ELP Policy Council

Alyssa Sutton

Community Representative

Nellie Taylor Donohue

Community Representative

Easthampton Public Schools

Click here to view Community Action's Board of Directors Schedule
Click here to view Community Action's Board of Directors Bylaws. 

If you would like to learn more about our Board of Directors or would like to join our Board, please contact the Assistant to the Executive Director at 413-376-1141.